Nyamjav


Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990032
Name: Nyamjav
Parent's name: Mijid
Ovog: Lhaimag
Sex: m
Year of Birth: 1951
Ethnicity: Halh

Additional Information
Education: higher
Notes on education:
Work: MUBIS jijüür
Belief: none
Born in: Jargalan sum, Govi-Altai aimag
Lives in: Sühbaatar sum (or part of UB), Ulaanbaatar aimag
Mother's profession: [blank]
Father's profession: [blank]


Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
childhood; education / cultural production; family; new technologies; keepsakes / material culture;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)

parents; education; dormitory; car;

Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Nyamjav please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 080609A with Nyamjav


Nyamjav is the oldest of six children in his family. At the age of eight he went to elementary school in Jargalan sum, and then studied in secondary school in Bayan-Uul sum. After finishing the 7th grade he entered the Pedagogical Institute in Hovd in 1966 and finished in 1969. All his life he worked as a labour teacher in secondary school.


He spent his childhood in the country-side with his parents who were herders. When he was thirteen, his father died. As the oldest son in his family he had to look after his younger siblings. Nyamjav tells about his childhood memories, including when he first saw a car, how he lived in a school dormitory, and what he ate there. He also recounts what subjects he studied in elementary and secondary schools, what clothes schoolchildren wore. Elementary school pupils were free to wear whatever they wanted, whereas those in secondary school had to wear a special uniform with a pioneer scarf. One of the things that Nyamjav liked about being a student at the Pedagogical Institute was the stipend of 180 tögrögs.


Nyamjav chose his profession (teaching carpentry in secondary school) because he thinks that carpentry skills run in his blood. Both his father and grandfather were good carpenters. His relatives on his mother’s side are jewellers.