Ganbaatar


Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990044
Name: Ganbaatar
Parent's name: Tsogzolmaa
Ovog: Log
Sex: m
Year of Birth: 1951
Ethnicity: Halh

Additional Information
Education: higher
Notes on education:
Work: Mathematics teacher, Manlai sum school
Belief: none
Born in: Dalangadzad sum, Ömnögovi aimag
Lives in: Manlai sum (or part of UB), Ömnögovi aimag
Mother's profession: [blank]
Father's profession: [blank]


Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
childhood; education / cultural production; work; travel; family;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)

education; dormitory; army; higher education;

Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Ganbaatar please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 080808A with Ganbaatar


Ganbaatar was born in Dalanzadgad. When his mother passed away, he was adopted by his uncle Tsogzolmaa. After finishing secondary school, in 1969 Ganbaatar was admitted to the mathematical department of the State Pedagogical Institute and moved to Ulaanbaatar. During his studies her served in the army for three years and finished the Institute in 1976. Since then he has taught mathematics in Tsogt-Ovoo, Bayan-Dalai, and Manlai sums.


Ganbaatar mainly discusses schools and dormitories. He himself spent ten years in dormitories during his formal education. He thinks that children in the socialist period were more responsible that today’s children. In dormitories, for example, schoolchildren from upper grades looked after those from lower grades. Older children were in charge of younger ones. He also recalls that back then children did not have many books and journals to read.


After finishing his 1st course at the Institute, Ganbaatar was planning to go home on a summer vocation. In June he was abruptly recruited to the army where he had to serve for three years.