Alimaa


Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990166
Name: Alimaa
Parent's name: Mashlai
Ovog: Bagshilhan
Sex: f
Year of Birth: 1942
Ethnicity: Zahchin

Additional Information
Education: incomplete secondary
Notes on education: This most likely means 7 years of schooling.
Work: Тарих дутуугийн группт
Belief: none
Born in: Manhan sum, Hovd aimag
Lives in: Songinohairhan sum (or part of UB), Ulaanbaatar aimag
Mother's profession: herder
Father's profession: herder


Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
illness / health; family; cultural campaigns; collectivization; relations between men and women;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)

childhood; schoolchildren's life; family; private life; collectivization; cultural campaigns; work - labor; urbanization; industrialization; salary - incentives; belief;

Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Alimaa please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 090322A with Alimaa


There are three of them in the family. At the age of six she was left orphaned by her mother. After completing the fourth grade she worked as a milkmaid, and in 1961 she got married and came to the city. In the city she worked at the shoe artel No.3. Then she followed her husband to Darhan city and worked there as a tailor, and then a cook in Hovd, and a cook at Ulaanbaatar kindergarten No.79.


At the start of the interview she talked about her childhood. From her childhood she used to do things under the instructions of her father and her sister-in-law and she acquired a skillful hand that has had a great influence on her life. During the collectivization movement there were no cattle to collectivize, nevertheless she, together with her brother and his wife joined the collective, and in 1958 or 1959 she worked as a milkmaid. During the cultural campaign she was a teacher for [educational] groups, and she taught classes to the milkmaids. She feels that it is thanks to the cultural campaign that people got rid of dirt and various diseases.


She also briefly mentioned the cultural campaign process, about her private life, and work. She also talked about Ulaanbaatar, family life and education. Her husband was going to study at the Communist Party Institute but it was cancelled since his wife was not educated. She mentioned that in this way the family life, the children’s upbringing influenced the career of a person during socialism.


At the end of the interview she mentioned about the socialist period factories, their outputs, and about privatization. Her older brother and sister worked in the collective and they privatized a certain amount of livestock though they hadn’t given any livestock during collectivization. She didn’t get any benefit from privatization. She also mentioned about the work and life of people under socialism, their attitude towards work and belief.