Dariimaa


Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990188
Name: Dariimaa
Parent's name: Jamsran
Ovog: Holboo het tamgatan
Sex: f
Year of Birth: 1941
Ethnicity: Zahchin

Additional Information
Education: incomplete secondary
Notes on education: This most likely means 7 years of schooling.
Work: retired
Belief: Buddhist
Born in: Manhan sum, Hovd aimag
Lives in: Bornuur sum (or part of UB), Töv aimag
Mother's profession: herder
Father's profession: herder


Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
family; education / cultural production; childhood; repressions; collectivization;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)

mother - father; childhood; schoolchildren's life; repression; changes in household culture; cultural campaigns; collectivization; work - labor; belief;

Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Dariimaa please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 090414A with Dariimaa


J. Daariimaa was born in Manhan sum of Hovd aimag in 1941. After completing elementary school in 1953 she became a herder. At the age of 18 she followed her brother to Hövsgöl aimag and she worked there for a year. Then she went to Bornuur state farm of Töv aimag, got married and settled there.


At the start of the interview she talked in detail about her parents and her childhood. The families who had over 1000 head of livestock couldn’t slaughter the cattle and eat them whenever they wished. Male and barren cattle were separated off to give for the official tax. During the war time the herders ate bran. She talked about the herders’ life and work of that time, and she regretted that at present time the productivity of the livestock that had supported the Mongolians, the meat and the milk is undervalued and the herders are being maltreated. She also briefly talked about when she studied at elementary school and children’s upbringing.


She also mentioned the repressions and that her father had been suspected as a counter-revolutionary. Her father had been a disciple at the Zereg Gol monastery since he was seven years old and at the age of 17 he left the monastery, and later he became a party member and used to work as a bag agitator. At that time two or three times people with guns came to arrest her father for worshipping an ovoo and organizing festivities, and he was called several times to the aimag court but he never went there and later he died. She said that the people who came to arrest him upon hearing about his death confiscated his party certificate, his documents and his bag. She also mentioned about the policy and the activities implemented during the cultural campaigns.


At the end of the interview she talked about the flourishing of the collectivization movement, the situation of men and women in the socialist period and work and labor. She also talked about religion and said that she respected the Christian preaching.