Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990254
Name: Tserendolgor
Parent's name: Gonchig
Ovog: Shand
Sex: f
Year of Birth: 1933
Ethnicity: Halh

Additional Information
Education: secondary
Notes on education: büren dund
Work: retired
Belief: Buddhist
Born in: Erdene Mandal sum, Arhangai aimag
Lives in: Chingeltei sum (or part of UB), Ulaanbaatar aimag
Mother's profession: herder
Father's profession: herder

Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
work; childhood; family; education / cultural production; travel;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)

public meal; cook; collective; children's upbringing; family; childhood; schoolchildren's life;

Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Tserendolgor please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 090421A with Tserendolgor

I was born in 1933 in Erdene-Mandal sum of Arhangai aimag. I was raised by my parents. I had been tending the livestock and then went to school. But my brother made me escape from the school, because he didn’t want me studying there. So I had been tending the livestock until my mother died. I was left at the age of 13 with 5 younger sisters and brothers. Reaching the age of 18 I got married and moved to the centre of Arhangai aimag. From there we moved to Bayanhongor. In 1957 I was employed to work at the cafeteria of the Bayanhongor aimag centre, and I worked there till 1963 and then moved to the city. I worked in the city until I retired in 1985.

I had many children and no vocation, so I went to work in a cafeteria and became a cook. In 1963 we moved to the city and I worked at the Oktyabri District cafeteria. I was very busy trying to fulfill the plan. The cook didn’t only cook, but also had to clean the dishes and go out and sell the meal in a pail. People from the administration used to come and the five ministries’ and the three ministries’ inspectors often came to do an inspection. They would ask many questions: How many cutting boards for meat, vegetable and flour you have? How do you classify the meat? And so on. They would inspect our hands and fingers. Then, there would be a trade union circle, a union circle and party meetings and they would teach us and organize discussions. We organized subbotniks on Lenin’s birthday. At that time people ordered khuushuur a lot and we became very busy. I had many small children therefore alongside with the work I did, I made children’s clothes and washed them. We used to make children’s clothes from cloth, as ready made clothes were very rare. My husband used to look after the children at his spare time from work. During the day they attended kindergarten. In the 1980s the working places and the working tools had been changed greatly.

I was left motherless at 13 and later I married my husband and delivered many children. My husband died in 1975 and it wasn’t easy to be left alone with many children. Now that my children live a decent life I feel comfortable. Thanks to my children I have visited India and America. When my son studied in Moscow I had a trip to Moscow and Leningrad.