Demberel


Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990314
Name: Demberel
Parent's name: Chültem
Ovog: Chültem
Sex: f
Year of Birth: 1933
Ethnicity: Ard Halh

Additional Information
Education: incomplete secondary
Notes on education: This most likely means 7 years of schooling.
Work: retired
Belief: none
Born in: Altai sum, Govi-Altai aimag
Lives in: Bayangol sum (or part of UB), Ulaanbaatar aimag
Mother's profession: herder
Father's profession: herder


Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
work; education / cultural production; collectivization; cultural campaigns; democracy;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)



Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Demberel please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 090422B with Demberel


There were six working days. Many public works were organized and we came home late at night. We worked extra hours. One or two times we stayed overnight to fulfill the plan. There were over ten artelis. Volleyball, chess, long and high-jump competitions were organized and I took part in all of them, you know. I got the first vacation money which was 80 tögrögs and I ordered a Russian wool coat. I wore it and I thought I looked beautiful in it.


I was surprised to see someone talking from a big black round thing like half of the cauldron and I asked my girl-friend about it. She said it was a telephone. In 1955, 1956 we have acquired a wired radio. We bought the first black and white TV set and our apartment building people, old and young, gathered at our place to watch TV.