Garamhand


Basic information
Interviewee ID: 990297
Name: Garamhand
Parent's name: Janaa
Ovog: Magsarjav
Sex: f
Year of Birth: 1934
Ethnicity: Halh

Additional Information
Education: incomplete secondary
Notes on education: graduated 7th grade
Work: retired
Belief: none
Born in: Hutag-Öndör sum, Bulgan aimag
Lives in: Bayan-Öndör sum (or part of UB), Orhon aimag
Mother's profession: herder (milkmaid)
Father's profession: herder


Themes for this interview, suggested by the interview team, are:
(Please click on a theme to see more interviews on that topic)
childhood; family; education / cultural production; industrialization; new technologies;

Alternative keywords suggested by readers for this interview are: (Please click on a keyword to see more interviews, if any, on that topic)

Hatanbaatar Magsarjav; World War II; repression; school / education; trade / shops;

Click here to submit your own keywords for this interview

To read a full interview with Garamhand please click on the Interview ID below.

Summary of Interview 090745A with Garamhand


J.Garamkhand was born in 1934 in Hutag-Öndör sum, Bulgan aimag, in a place called Bürged. She spent her childhood with her parents. In 1948, instead of her mother, she attended the literacy group training for six days and learned the 35 letters. In 1962 she completed a seventh grade education at night school.


She is the relative of Hatanbaatar Magsarjav and she talked quite a bit about what she had heard and what she knew about that person, the things he used to consume and about his family and his children.


She can’t sing but likes songs and music very much and fond of watching movies and concerts, and public dance circles. She worked at the carpet factory, the sixth arteli, in trade and the self-service store. She talked in detail how the people of that time worked, the peculiarities of the work places, how industry was developed in Mongolia, what was the salary of the people, the purchasing power of the people, and the provisioning of goods.